Ravenswood's Carte and Hunt earn All-LKC recognition

Mark Martin

Two basketball standouts from Ravenswood High School have been named to the All-Little Kanawha Conference teams for their performances in the 2021 high school basketball season.

Senior Annie Hunt wrapped up a fabulous career by earning a spot on the Girls First Team while sophomore Matthew Carte gained Boys First Team status.

Hunt, who was recently a West Virginia Class AA All-State First Team selection, helped lead Ravenswood to its first appearance in the state basketball tournament since 2012.

Ravenswood senior Annie Hunt earned a spot on the Girls First Team.

As the lone senior, she led the young Devilettes with an average of 16 points per game.

Hunt will continue her basketball career at Wheeling University, a member of the NCAA Division II Mountain East Conference.

Junior Libby Hall and freshman Hadleigh McGoskey, two key players who will return next season for Ravenswood, earned Honorable Mention in the balloting.

Parkersburg Catholic’s Leslie Huffman was selected as the league’s Player of the Year. Marty Vierheller of Parkersburg Catholic was the Coach of the Year.

Also named to the All-LKC First Team were Josie Montgomery of Calhoun County, Sydney Blatt of Webster County, Aaliyah Brunney of Parkersburg Catholic, Carrah Ferguson of Gilmer County, Kylie Wright of St. Marys, Rebekah Rupert of Ritchie County, Calhoun County’s Savannah Cunningham, Nicole Reynolds of Williamstown, Emma Wyer of Wirt County and Josey Moore of St. Marys.

The Second Team was made up of Zoe Davis of St. Marys, Emma Taylor, Taylor McHenry and Malaysia Morgan of Gilmer County, Jayla Wiseman and Laykn Joy of Williamstown, Sophie Nelson of Ritchie County, Emma Gibbs of Wahama, Doddridge County’s Abby McDonough, Carleigh Phillips of Tyler Consolidated, Faith Mason of Roane County, Jenna Boice of Parkersburg Catholic, Lara Fetty of St. Marys, Lauren Templeton of Tyler Consolidated and Ivy Taylor of Clay County.

Carte averaged 14.6 points and 5.3 rebounds for the Runnin’ Red Devils.

Ravenswood sophomore Matthew Carte gained Boys First Team status.

Teammate Ashton Miller, a junior, gained Honorable Mention.

Sam Cremeans of Class AA state champion Williamstown was chosen as the LKC Boys Player of the Year.

Clay County’s Scott Gibson was Coach of the Year.

Others picked for the First Team with Carte were Grant Barnhart of St. Marys, Clay’s Curtis Litton, Braden Miller of Roane County, Rye Gadd of Webster County, Caleb Strobe of Tyler Consolidated, Nathan Murray of Wirt County, Xavier Caruthers of Williamstown, Graden McKinney of Ritchie, Jett Cogar of Braxton and Josh Lipscomb of Gilmer County.

The Second Team consists of Tanner Faulkner of Clay County, Corey Boulden of South Harrison, Carter Williams of Webster County, Xavier Collie of Parkersburg Catholic, Ben Long of St. Marys, Ethan Haught of Ritchie County, Baylor Haught of Williamstown, Sawyer VanMatre of Wahama, Collen Pritt of Clay County, Connor Cunningham of Doddridge County, Justin Bowman of Tyler Consolidated and Ty Wellings of Gilmer County.