High School Soccer Ripley’s Gainey earns AAA Honorable Mention

Mark Martin

The West Virginia Sports Writers Association Class AAA All-State Team was announced last week and Ripley’s Ian Gainey was among those recognized.

Gainey, a standout for first-year head coach Victor Boyce, garnered Honorable Mention in the All-State balloting.

He was a four-year starter for the Viking program, guided for three years by Tim Ross before Boyce took the reigns of the program in 2021. Gainey was a team captain for the blue and white. 

The First Team captain was Coleman Meredith of Wheeling Park.

Others on the First Team were Max Trethewey of George Washington, Ryan Hurst of Buckhannon-Upshur, University’s Riley Nett, Eddie Marks of Brooke, Jefferson’s Brennan King, Adam Seams of Greenbrier East, Cabell Midland’s Ryan Holmes, Bryce Coleman of George Washington, Wheeling Park’s Taylor McFarland, Evan Laraba of Beckley Woodrow Wilson, Matthew Cook of Greenbrier East, Timmy Bailey of University, Grayson Maddox of Hurricane, Alex Canestraro of Wheeling Park and Garrett Shields of Cabell Midland.

The Second Team captain was Azain Uquily, Nick Ihnat of George Washington, Jack Haynes of Oak Hill, Lanty Rose of Greenbrier East, Andrew Glass of Wheeling Park, Brooke’s Liam Cronin, George Washington’s Isaac Carney, Buckhannon-Upshur’s Lane Tenney, Sam Squires of Buckhannon-Upshur, Dawson Dillon of Cabell Midland, Christian Johnson of Hurricane, Isaac Lewis of University, Andrew Coursin of Brooke, Alex Catlett of Martinsburg, Jake Bock of Hurricane and Matt Lowe of Jefferson.