MOV Hall of Fame cancelled for 2020

Mark Martin
Jackson Newspapers

It was first set for June 13.

Then it was moved to August 22.

Now the Mid-Ohio Valley Sports Hall of Fame induction banquet has been cancelled.

This year’s Class of 2020 featured three Jackson Countians in former Ripley and West Virginia State football great James Abshire, Ripley basketball legend Chase Fischer, who played on the collegiate level for both Wake Forest and Brigham Young, and Ravenswood three-sport standout Josh Miller, who went on to enjoy an All-American career in baseball at West Virginia State University.

The trio from Jackson County helped make up a class of 10 members.

They will now be honored next year on June 12 in Vienna at the Grand Pointe Reception and Conference Center.

Other class members are Maggie Drazba (Pleasants County), Tyler Engle (Washington County), Dail Harper (Nobel County), Mary Lopez (Wood County), Paul Page (Wood County), Jon Shuler (Washington County) and Shane Smith (Wood County).

The Mid-Ohio Valley Sports Hall of Fame honors former athletes, coaches, officials, media members and contributors for their outstanding accomplishments in the athletic arena.

Besides Jackson, the West Virginia counties helping to make up the MOV Hall of Fame are Wood, Wirt, Pleasants and Ritchie along with Washington and Noble counties in Ohio.