Ravenswood players missing out on BACF

Mark Martin
Jackson Newspapers

This would have been the week for a quartet of graduating Ravenswood football players to get one more chance at playing together.

Like so many other things in the past few months, COVID-19 prevented that from happening.

Former Red Devils Wayne Stephenson, Zach Graham, Nikki Nicholson and Tanner Snodgrass had been chosen to play for the Mountain State team in the annual Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis West Virginia-Ohio All-Star Football Classic at Bill Hanlin Stadium in St. Marys.

Practices were slated to begin this past weekend. The game was set for this coming Friday night.

Stephenson was a solid running back/linebacker for Eric Hupp’s Red Devils. Graham and Nicholson were stellar linemen. Snodgrass did an excellent job handling the place kicking duties for the red and black.

Roane County High School’s Paul Burdette and his coaching staff had been chosen to lead the West Virginia team.

This would have been Burdette’s second time as head coach.

Burdette will be entering his 10th season at Roane County’s head coach this coming season.

The Ohio team was going to be guided by Frontier’s Greg Morris and his Cougar staff.

While leading the series, 15-11, West Virginia was looking to break a three-game losing streak in the game against the Ohioans.

Several standouts from both Ravenswood and Ripley have been a part of the game, which raises money to fight Cystic Fibrosis, since its inception in 1994.

Former Ripley head coach Jimmy Frashier, the current principal at Ravenswood High, was twice the West Virginia head coach. He served as the Mountain State leader in 1999 and 2007.

Ravenswood coaching great Dick Sturm led the West Virginia team in 2004.

Both Kemp Kelley and Eddie Smolder were members of Sturm’s staff.

Kelley would follow Sturm as head coach at Ravenswood.

Smolder recently wrapped up a five-season stint as Ripley’s head coach.

In last year's game, Ripley's Josh Kay earned West Virginia Most Valuable Player honors for his role in the team's secondary. He became the first player in the history of the game from Jackson County to garner the award.

History of Jackson Countians in BACF Football Classic:

2020-Ravenswood’s Wayne Stephenson, Zach Graham, Nikki Nicholson and Tanner Snodgrass (No game due to COVD-19).

2019-Ravenswood’s Luke Jackson, Ravenswood’s Luke Jackson, Nick Williams Ripley’s R.J. Evans, Josh Kay and Andrew Dolin (Ohio wins, 7-0, at St. Marys’ Bill Hanlin Stadium)

2018-No Jackson Countians played (Ohio wins, 47-13, at St. Marys’ Bill Hanlin Stadium)

2017-Ripley’s Hunter Stephens (Ohio wins, 50-33, Marietta’s Don Drumm Stadium)

2016-Ravenswood’s Preston Humphreys (West Virginia wins, 24-7 at Marietta’s Don Drumm Stadium)

2015-No players compete (West Virginia wins, 28-7 at Parkersburg’s Stadium Field)

2014-Ravenswood’s Nathan Cunningham and Nathan Withers (Ohio wins, 18-15 at Parkersburg’s Stadium Field)

2013-Ravenswood's Dillon Gandee, Brad Titus and Ryan Whytsell, Ripley's Quaseem Fields (Ohio wins, 33-13 at Marietta’s Don Drumm Stadium)

2012-Ravenswood's Chad Burrows, Brandon Cunningham, Dustin DeRito, Kyle Griffith, Jeremy Lawrence and Tyler Newell (Ohio wins, 48-0, at Marietta's Don Drumm Stadium)

2011-Ravenswood's Mark Davis, John Scritchfield, Chad Small and Cole Starcher, Ripley's Correy Goff and Storm Matheny (West Virginia wins, 14-0, at Parkersburg's Stadium Field)

2010-Ravenswood's Luke Murray (West Virginia wins, 31-6, at Warren Local High Stadium in Vincent, Ohio)

2009-Ravenswood’s Zach Shriver, Ripley’s Lonnie Kiser, Seth Parsons, Jeff Tomlin and Josh Williams (Ohio wins, 24-0, at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

2008-Ravenswood’s Travis Lang (West Virginia wins, 17-14, at Warren Local High Stadium in Vincent, Ohio)

2007-Ripley’s Jimmy Frashier (head coach), Will Hosaflook (assistant coach), Justin Frashier (assistant coach), Dewayne Merritt (assistant coach), Dwayne Hicks (assistant coach), Shane Casto (assistant coach), Joe Cunningham of Ripley and Tom Nay and Jon Wood of Ravenswood. (West Virginia wins, 14-7, at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

2006-Ravenswood’s William Workman and Jarrod Varney, Ripley’s Jon Ullom (West Virginia wins, 25-20, at Warren Local High Stadium in Vincent, Ohio)

2005-No Jackson County participants (West Virginia wins, 13-7, at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

2004-Ravenswood’s Dick Sturm (head coach), Kemp Kelly (assistant coach), Jason Jackson (assistant coach), Eddie Smolder (assistant coach), Steve Sturm (assistant coach), Andrew Boggess, Brett Greene, Justin Hupp, Tyler Kelly, Brandon Smith and Nick Wolfe, Ripley’s Jon Melhorn and Jarod Woofter (Ohio wins, 18-13, at Yellowjacket Field in Williamstown)

2003-Ravenswood’s Chris Barbe, Caleb Lanning, Marcus Moresea and Matt Webb, Ripley’s Adam Casto, Ty Phalen and Waid Harper (West Virginia wins, 48-3, at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

2002-Ripley’s Jim Bob Durbin, Andy Roachelle and Broc Skeen, Ravenswood’s Ty Pistelli and Eric Reed (West Virginia wins, 37-0, at Ralph Holder Stadium in Belpre, Ohio)

2001-Ravenswood’s Nathan Benson, Ernie Tacket and Joey Varney (West Virginia wins, 18-13, at Erickson All-Sports Facility in Parkersburg)

2000-Ravenswood’s Derrick King and Jeremy Nester, Ripley’s Nathan Utt (Ohio wins, 36-0 at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

1999-Ripley’s Jimmy Frashier (assistant coach), Ripley’s Justin Frashier (assistant coach), Nathan Logan and Steve Shockey, Ravenswood’s Chris Claudio (Ohio wins, 31-13 at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

1998-Ravenswood’s Jon Bibbee, Ripley’s Nathan Knopp (Ohio wins, 39-12, at Ralph Holder Stadium in Belpre, Ohio)

1997-Ravenswood’s Chip Donohoe, Davey Hood, T.J. Moore, Nathan Patterson and Kevin Philyaw (West Virginia wins, 25-6, at Ralph Holder Stadium in Belpre)

1996-Ravenswood’s Eric King and Shannon Martin (West Virginia wins, 21-13, at Ralph Holder Stadium in Belpre)

1995-Ravenswood’s Greg Archer, Frank Bibbee, Joe Blackhurst and Mike Hensley (West Virginia wins, 11-8, at Stadium Field in Parkersburg)

1994-Jackson County wasn’t a part of the game (Ohio wins, 10-7, at Don Drumm Stadium in Marietta)