The 2018 election filing period is open and continues through midnight on Saturday, January 27, 2018.

The 2018 election filing period is open and continues through midnight on Saturday, January 27, 2018.

 Candidates for the 2018 election cycle must file a Certificate of Announcement during this period at the Jackson County Clerk’s Office in the Jackson County Courthouse or with the Secretary of State’s Office in Charleston for state and county offices including US Senate, US House of Representatives, State Senate, House of Delegates, County Commission, Board of Education, Conservation District Supervisor, State Executive Committee, District Executive Committee and County Executive Committee and any vacancy that must be filled by either the Primary Election or General Election. 

 In addition, Municipal Elections for the officers of Mayor, Recorder and City Council are also to decided as part of the Primary Election balloting. Filing for municipal office may be done at respective city halls in Ravenswood and Ripley.

 Ballot positioning will be drawn on February 20, 2018 at 9 a.m. for the Primary Election and on August 28, 2018 for the General Election.

 Among the first to file their candidacies (for re-election) in Jackson County  were incumbent Jackson County Board of Education members Steve Wedge of Evans and Ben Mize of Ravenswood; incumbent County Commissioner Mike Randolph and Joseph Mullins for County Commissioner; Danny Mitchell for Democratic Executive Committee; and Joyce Creel for Democratic Executive Committee. 

  In Ravenswood, incumbent Mayor Josh Miller filed for re-election. Incumbent Recorder Sue Quillen filed to challenge Miller for the Office of Mayor, as did newcomer, Gary Andrews, Jr.

 Incumbent Councilman Jared Bloxton filed for Recorder; and former council member Gary Cross field for City Council.

 In Ripley, incumbent Mayor Carolyn Rader filed for re-election, as did incumbent Council members  Bryan Thompson and Carolyn Waybright. 

    Filing in Charleston were incumbent 12th District Delegate Steve Westfall (R) of Ripley; Missy Morris (D) of Ripley for 12th District Delegate; incumbent 13th District Delegate Scott Brewer (D) of New Haven; incumbent 13th District Delegate Joshua Higginbotham (R) of Poca; Martin “Rick” Atkinson (R) of Reedy for 11th District Delegate; Tally Sergent (D) of Charleston for US Representative-District 2; incumbent Alex X. Mooney (R) of Charles Town for US Representative-District 2; Eric Tarr (R) of Scott Depot for State Senate -4th District; Mark Drennan (R) of Hurricane for State Senate-4th District; and Bonnie Fruth (D) of Pt. Pleasant for Executive Committee.