CHARLESTON – Need a football fix?
UC Stadium will have just what you are looking for on Saturday night.
At 7 p.m., the annual WCHS-TV/FOX 11 North-South All-Star Football Classic unfolds.
The game will have 74 of the state’s top high school senior football players in action.

The South squad will include Ripley wide receiver Kade Harrison (look for a story on Harrison in Saturday’s edition of The Weekender), a Class AAA First Team All-State selection in 2013.
Since the classic’s rebirth in 1976, Jackson County has been represented in all but three games.
Four head coaches from Jackson County have served as the top leaders in the annual Classic. Ravenswood’s Fred Taylor led the South Cardinals in the 1988 contest. Ripley’s Frank Marino was the head coach of the North Bears in the 1990 showdown. Jimmy Frashier of Ripley guided the Bears in 2010 while Ravenswood’s Dick Sturm was the North’s head coach in 2011.

From 1976-1989, Jackson County players were a part of the South. Restructuring of the boundaries due to consolidation around the state shifted Ravenswood and Ripley to the North starting with the 1990 contest that had Marino as the head coach.
Ravenswood and Ripley moved back to the South starting with last year’s game.
Four Jackson County players have garnered North Most Valuable Player honors in the game – Ravenswood’s Ryan Ward and Chip Donohoe in 1996 and 1997, respectively, along with Ripley’s Jeff McCoy in 2003 and Parker Deem in 2006.
History of Jackson County North-South Classic selections
2014-(South) Ripley’s Kade Harrison
2013-(South) Ripley’s Daryl Hicks
2012-(North) Ravenswood’s Jeremy Lawrence and Ripley’s David Hicks
2011-(North) Ravenswood’s Dick Sturm (head coach), Steve Sturm (assistant coach), Ravenswood’s Mark Davis, Chad Small and Cole Starcher and Ripley’s Correy Goff (South wins, 14-13)
2010-(North) Ripley’s Jimmy Frashier (head coach), Ripley’s David Heis, Ronnie Mullins and Scotty Ullom and Ravenswood’s Tanner Hunter (South wins, 21-6)
2009-(North) Ripley’s Seth Parsons, Lonnie Kiser and Ravenswood’s Jake Young (North wins, 22-0)
2008-(North) Ripley’s Jimmy Frashier (assistant coach), Ripley’s Logan Martin and Logan Seabolt (South wins, 24-14)
2007-No Jackson County players selected (South wins, 7-3)
2006-(North) Ravenswood’s William Workman and Ripley’s +Parker Deem (South wins, 33-22)
2005-No Jackson County players selected (North wins, 9-7)
2004-(North) Ravenswood’s Brett Greene and Brandon Smith (North wins, 21-12)
2003-(North) Ripley’s Corey Isner, +Jeff McCoy, Ty Phalen and Ravenswood’s Caleb Lanning (South wins, 25-20)
2002-(North) Ripley’s Brock Stotts, Broc Skeens and Ravenswood’s Ty Pistelli (North wins, 39-12)
2001-(North) Ripley’s Jon Spencer (North wins, 41-21)
2000-(North) Ripley’s Doy Nichols and Justin Southall (North wins, 20-18)
1999-(North) Ripley’s Justin Johnson, Adam King and Ravenswood’s Luke Salmons (North wins, 19-8)
1998-(North) Ripley’s Eddie Smolder (South wins, 26-0)
1997-(North) Ravenswood’s +Chip Donohoe and Davey Hood, Ripley’s Lance Morrison and Ben Parsons (North wins, 14-13)
1996-(North) Ravenswood’s Eric King and +Ryan Ward (South wins, 19-2)
1995-(North) Ravenswood’s Matt Moresea (South wins, 24-0)
1994-(North) Ravenswood’s Greg Archer and Ripley’s Richard Holley (South wins, 28-0)
1993-(North) Ravenswood’s Pat Akers and Ripley’s Brian Johnson (North wins, 20-14)
1992-(North) Ripley’s Kenny Skeen (South won, 30-16)
1991-(North) Ravenswood’s Eddie Gould and Ripley’s Brandon Landis (North won, 14-7)
1990-(North) Ripley’s Frank Marino (head coach), Mike Deem (assistant coach), James Kay and Chris Martin, Ravenswood’s Kevin Copley and Scott Dale (South wins, 20-14)
1989-No Jackson County players (South wins, 20-12)
1988-(South) Ravenswood’s Fred Taylor (head coach), Dick Sturm (assistant coach), Jeff Corder and Robbie Taylor, Ripley’s Mark Johnson and Nathan Nelson (South wins, 35-24)
1987-(South) Ravenswood’s Bruce Coiner and Ripley’s Rod Lanham (South wins, 10-7)
1986-(South) Ripley’s Dean Parsons (South wins, 39-0)
1985-(South) Ravenswood’s Paul Fletcher and Bunky Seaver, Ripley’s Daniel Winters (South wins, 34-18)
1984-(South) Ripley’s Brian Hussell (South wins, 14-13 OT)
1983-(South) Ripley’s Brad Hunt and Scott Walters (North wins, 19-14)
1982-(South) Ripley’s Dewayne Merritt (North wins, 29-12)
1981-(South) Ripley’s Mickey Marino (South won, 7-3)
1980-(South) Ravenswood’s John Adkins and Ripley’s Butch Barnette (North wins, 23-0)
1979-(South) Ravenswood’s Jim Mahan and Doug Ritchie (South wins, 15-8)
1977-(South) Ravenswood’s Fred Taylor (assistant coach), John McCoy and Jim Thompson (South wins, 23-6)
1976-(South) Ravenswood’s Fred Taylor (assistant coach), Gary Blair and Bryan Canterbury (North wins, 8-6)
+-North team Most Valuable Player