PARKERSBURG - The top ranked Highlanders of Huntington dominated the field and returned to Cabell County with their third straight MSAC title on Saturday as Ripley finished third overall.

The top five (team) finishers from the field of 13 were Huntington (253), Parkersburg (180), Ripley (142.5) George Washington (110) and Winfield (105).

The Vikings were shorthanded out of the gate as No.2 state ranked Lucas Simpkins (126) was unable to participate due to a temporary illness.

Ripley was still able to crown four grapplers at Parkersburg's Memorial Fieldhouse. Austin Hileman (132), Preston Martin (152), Greg Medina (195) and Heavyweight Daryl Hicks all earned conference titles on this snowy Saturday.

Hileman didn't wrestle at Fairmont last month due to illness and Ripley coach Matt Smith was pleased with how he bounced back.

"He really wrestled well all day and was able to come out on top versus a tough kid in Parkersburg's Trapper Hays."

No. 3 (state rankings) Jake Martin (138) dropped a tough OT final match to No.2 ranked Billy Waldeck of Huntington, 7-5.
Ripley's top MSAC ranked (170) Nate Starkey fell in a heartbreaking final to Cabell Midland's Nick Boone, 2-1.

Viking heavyweight Daryl Hicks (285) put a stamp on his No. 1 state ranking by dismantling Huntington's Tony Kitts in the finals, 5-0.

In one of the bizarre stories of the day, Ripley's Antonio Jones (120) had to endure two tough calls that didn't go his way on the mats. Viking head coach Matt Smith was issued a warning for questioning the first of the calls in which he didn't even leave his seat.

Jones finished fourth after losing by fall to George Washington's David Pancake.

"We had two weeks off due to the weather and we really needed to get back to work. I think that for us, it is just a matter of fine tuning the little things at this point in the season. I was pleased with our effort and our attitude. We had some disappointments today but it is all in how we respond to a quality Point Pleasant team this Friday," said Smith.
The Outstanding MSAC Wrestler was Jake Smith of George Washington and the MSAC Coach of Year is Chris Way of Parkersburg.

Ripley travels to Point Pleasant on Friday providing Mother Nature doesn't blanket the county with snow, once again..
Championship finals

106: #1 Logan Grass (Huntington) DEC #2 Austin Spears (Parkersburg) M 18-8
113: #1 Jordan Allen (Huntington) WBTF #3 Nick Johnson (Parkersburg) T 16-0
120: #2 Johnathan Spence (Huntington) DEC #1 Jason West (Parkersburg) D 4-2
126: #3 Bryce Humphreys (Winfield) DEC #1 Chase Childers (Huntington) M 14-3
132: #1 Austin Hileman (Ripley) DEC #3 Trapper Hays (Parkersburg) D 5-1
138: #1 Billy Waldeck (Huntington) DEC #2 Jake Martin (Ripley) D 7-5;SV1
145: #1 Justin Arthur (Huntington) WBTF #2 Isaac Reed (Winfield) T 19-1
152: #2 Preston Martin (Ripley) DEC #1 Paden Christian (Huntington) D 4-3
160: #1 Jake Smith (George Washington) WBTF #2 Dylan Richards (Parkersburg) T 15-0
170: #2 Nick Boone (Cabell Midland) DEC #1 Nate Starkey (Ripley) D 2-1
182: #1 Jared Haught (Parkersburg) WBF #2 Carter Capehart (Huntington) F 2:34
195: #1 Greg Medina (Ripley) DEC #2 Aerison Parrish (Huntington) D 5-2
220: #2 Tyler Riddle (Parkersburg) DEC #1 Nigale Cabell (Huntington) D 5-3
285: #1 Daryl Hicks (Ripley) DEC #3 Toney Kitts (Huntington) D 5-0
Consolation finals
106: #3 Logan Atkins (Cabell Midland) DEC #4 Sam Moore (George Washington) D 5-3
113: #2 Chris Cochran (Winfield) DEC #5 Hunter Fischer (Cabell Midland) D 6-1
120: #4 David Pancake (George Washington) WBF #3 Antonio Jones (Ripley) F 4:22
126: #2 Jensen Lorea (George Washington) WBF #6 Hunter Green (Riverside) F 3:17
132: #5 Vince Hunt (Riverside) WBF #2 Cody Shepherd (Huntington) F DEF
138: #3 Skyler Terrell (Parkersburg) DEC #4 Bobby Mitchell (Cabell Midland) D 4-0
145: #3 NaCodie Barrows (Parkersburg) DEC #4 Zach Gwinn (Spirng Valley) D 4-3
152: #5 Fred Crosier (South Charleston) DEC #4 Timmy Blake (Cabell Midland) D 7-3
160: #4 Jimmy Clark (Winfield) DEC #3 Jason Martin (Huntington) M 14-2
170: #5 Hunter Jones (George Washington) WBF #3 Kyle Fischer (Spirng Valley) F 4:44
182: #4 Zach Richardson (Winfield) WBF #3 Akeem Brown (St. Albans) DEFAULT (5 match rule, both teams and wrestlers awarded 3rd place)
195: #3 Dyln Lageman (Spirng Valley) DEC #6 Chase Hanshaw (Riverside) D 8-2
220: #3 Hunter Skeens (Nitro) WBF #4 Nathan Jefferson (Cabell Midland) F 1:36
285: #4 Mitchell Fitzgerald (Hurricane) DEC #2 Jack Skidmore (George Washington) D 3-2